Good Sport

One aspect of my life that I have never been able to crow about is my athletic ability. I bowl every Saturday morning, usually score around 125 but enjoy the fellowship with my bowling buddy. I used to dream of winning a trophy in any sport in order to insure that my athletic daddy knew I was a chip off the “old block.” Well, that dream was finally realized when I was stationed at NAS Pensacola in the Navy. A Navy chief came into the office where I worked and said, “Cooper, I hear you play tennis.” I confirmed that I had played but that I was not “good.” He responded, “Can you serve?” I assured him that I could get the ball over the net most of the time. “Then serve, and get out of the way,” he said. “My regular partner is ill, and I’ll have to forfeit if I don’t have a partner.” By the way, we were playing for the base doubles championship. Reader, we won, believe it or not. When I did accidentally return a volley, the crowd went wild as they figured out rather soon that I was not the pro that Chief Cantlin was. And, yes, I received a trophy from the Admiral. My dream came true, if only by default.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good Sport

  1. Bob says:

    Really nice to hear. Each of us deserves to have our “moment”. I had a small one myself, once. Very insignificant, but I’ve never forgotten it.

Leave a Reply

