The Ministerial We

When I was young and listening to every word the minister said (oh yeah?), I remember being fascinated with statements from the pulpit like, “We want you to observe Lent by practicing abstinence” or “We would like for everyone to pray for this ministry.” I wasn’t sure why the pronoun that was used was plural. Was the pastor including the Trinity in his wording or what? It was strange but seemed to be a common occurrence in Southern Baptist ministerial speech. When my neighborhood friend Mary Keith came over and told me that our young assistant pastor had invited her on a date, I encouraged her to accept, knowing that Monte was a very nice young preacher. However, she seemed perplexed and uncertain. When I asked what the problem was, she answered, “When he invited me, he said, ‘Mary Keith, we want you to go on a date this Saturday,’ and I’m not sure whether that meant we’re going alone or double-dating.'” Good question.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Ministerial We

  1. Stefano Tieghi says:

    we!!!! it seems to be what the latin asked PLurale Maiestatis when who writes referring to himself use the first plural person instead of the singular one and it was really utilised in the cherch!!!!

Leave a Reply

