Pumping Iron

Four years ago, I had a knee replacement. I thought I would bounce back quickly as I always had with previous surgeries. However, this was not to be the case with this one. I went through weeks of physical therapy, three times a week, $25.00 co-pay each time. When the therapy place dismissed me, I knew I was not ready for dismissal. I think the dismissal had something to do with my insurance. Anyhow, I knew I needed more exercise so I headed to the Life Styles gym and Silver Sneakers. My first session was humiliating. I couldn’t keep up, and all of the rest of those “oldies” were hopping to the rhythm as though they were teenagers. I was relieved when I learned I had been in Silver Sneakers II, the “advanced” class. Evidently it was progressive so I sought out Silver Sneakers I. Like Goldilocks, Silver Sneakers I was just right and still looked physical enough not to be embarrassing although we did march around our chairs and rotate our thumbs a good deal. I became very regular in my newfound exercise regimen, trying to remember that the class on Tuesday met at 9:45 and the one on Thursday, at 10:45. One Thursday I somehow mixed up the time and walked into the class, wondering who all the newbies were. When I realized I was hour early for my class, one of the class members urged me to stay and try it. I did, and once again it fit. I had progressed. I don’t think I will ever say I love exercising, but I will readily admit that I feel good about doing so. I’m a seventy-four year old exerciser and proud to wear my Silver Sneakers T-shirt.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pumping Iron

  1. Tom says:

    I didn’t get a T-shirt :-/ !

Leave a Reply

