Florida Bound

When I enlisted in the Navy, I was sent to the Great Lakes Training Center for my basic training. Leaving there, I was assigned to the National Rifle Matches in Camp Perry, Ohio. My next duty station was in Bainbridge, Maryland, where I received training as a Yeoman, clerk typist. By that time, I was wondering if I was going to “see the world,” as promised by my recruiter. When the new assignments were read, I heard that I would be assigned to Gitmo Bay. Wow! The Caribbean! A “foreign” country. Unfortunately, the Navy man reading my assignment was trying to shock me and had lied. My actual duty assignment was to the Naval Air Station, Pensacola, FL. I had dreamed of coming to Florida ever since a student had transferred from St. Petersburg, FL, into my high school in Clinton, SC. Who could have known that that assignment to NAS Pensacola would eventually lead me to St. Petersburg, the home of that student I had envied so much?

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

