Le Miserable

As I write this blog this Thursday morning, I am “Le Miserable.” The attack began four nights ago when I had a chill. Since then, the marauder has made me feverish, has caused paroxysms of coughing, has left my chest aching, and has chased away a good night’s sleep. I have been to the doctor who has started me a z-pack. I have had those before, and they usually are successful in healing this malady. I hope so. Not only am I miserable physically, but the gods are also against me. Why else would the little trinket my granddaughter gave me so lovingly pop out of my hand and roll under the unreachable part of my desk. Following suit was the wrapper from a lozenge that was supposed to drop into the wastebasket but followed the trinket’s leadership. For lunch, I decided to do eggs, grits, and bacon. Yes, I know that’s a breakfast meal, but it sounded good….at least until I bit into the mix (I always mash my sunny side up eggs with the bacon and scramble it all into the grits. Yikes! Did I put that much salt in the grits? This too will pass, but for now, I am the one, the only: “Le Miserable.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

