Open the Door, Richard

Several years ago, I was hired to chaperone an 89-year-old gentleman on a Mediterranean cruise which was to begin in Rome, Italy. I had never met Richard but learned from my travel director friend that he could not make the trip without a roommate/chaperone. The agreement required that I pay for my flight to and from Rome but included the promise that all shipboard fees for both of us would be paid by Richard’s daughter. I agreed and met with Richard once to make his acquaintance, plan side trips, etc. I found him to be a charming gentleman and amazingly fit for an octogenarian except for some memory challenges which I considered normal for his age. Richard was flying over with the other members of this group so I was to meet him at the hotel in Rome. When I got to the hotel, the desk informed me that Richard had already checked in and had my room key. When I knocked on the door, Richard responded and asked who was at the door. When I identified myself as Thom, his roommate, he replied, “I don’t know you. Go away.” I begged. He declined. Finally, I said, “Richard, call Susan (the travel director) and ask her who Thom is.” He did, and what had threatened to be an ominous beginning became an excellent friendship. The following year I attended his 90th birthday party and had no trouble getting in.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Open the Door, Richard

  1. arcadian48 says:

    Sweet story. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

