If The Shoe Doesn’t Fit…..

While I was still teaching “on the hill” at Northeast High School, I enjoyed eating lunch with fellow teachers every day. Because we were in a remote part of the campus which made the lunchroom inaccessible because of time, our lunches were brought up to us, and we ate at a large picnic table and relaxed between classes. Sitting across from Patti, a young English teacher, I glanced under the table and noticed that she had shed her shoes during the comfort of lunch. Carefully, I shed my size 12’s, pulled her shoes away from her and replaced them with mine, carefully positioning them where hers had been. Meanwhile, she continued chatting, unaware of my scheme. When the bell rang to return to class, without looking down, she put her feet into my shoes. The expression of surprise was priceless as her feet went “miles” further than usual into the replacement shoes. What a joy it was watching her try on a pair of shoes that didn’t fit.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

