Sorry, Wrong Number

When Bright House told me that I had to download a new anti-virus program, they sent me to an incorrect website address and gave me no directions how to download the new free program. I therefore determined to call the company for instructions. Remembering that I could use their 3-digit number instead of the regular seven digit number, I dialed 9-1-1. Whoops! That’s not the correct number; that’s the number to use for emergencies. I quickly slammed down the phone, hoping my error had not connected. I then searched for the regular phone number for Bright House, dialed it, and was sent to a remote center of the world for instructions. During the phone call, I ignored someone who was trying to call in (I never utilize call-waiting) but had to answer the doorbell when it rang while still communicating with Bright House regarding how to download McAfee virus protection. When I opened the door, there was a member of the St. Petersburg police department who had come to check on my safety. With the phone to my ear, I apologized to the officer, thanking him for checking on me and shaking hands with him. I’m glad to report that I now have anti-virus protection and have learned that the number I should have called was 6-1-1.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

