Confessions of a Racist

I was raised a racist. My parents definitely observed the rules of a racist society and taught us children to obey those rules as God’s law. When I left home and entered college, I began to challenge those teachings and made as my goal erasing as much racial intolerance from my life as I possibly could. However, I still find myself occasionally thinking racist thoughts, but, when I do, I quickly reprimand myself. The situation in Sanford, FL, where a white self-appointed security guard killed an unarmed black teenager but has not yet been arrested shouts of blatant racism. Perhaps this tragedy will lead to changing laws that enhance unfairness and will cause each of us to examine our hearts and cause us to show more love for all of mankind, regardless of race or creed. This situation suggests that we still have a long way to go before we erase color from our rules of fairness and justice.

About Thom

I am an 85-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Confessions of a Racist

  1. Bill Martin says:

    Discrimination can be legislated. Prejudice cannot … it is a matter of the heart, and we all know Biblically that the heart is “desperately wicked,” especially when it comes to protecting the ego (self, pride).

Leave a comment