That’s My Book

I have very much enjoyed reading several of Ken Follett’s novels and am presently watching the made-for-TV version of “Pillars of the Earth.” I was explaining to a friend that I have some people coming over soon to watch the last two episodes of this movie. When he asked why I wanted to watch the movie, I explained that I had read the Follett book and was therefore eager to see the film. He then told me the following story:
He was in Aruba, working with Exxon, and staying at a luxury resort in that city. While enjoying the sun by the pool, he reclined in a lounge chair reading a Ken Follett novel. Deciding to take a swim, he stopped reading, lay the book down, and jumped into the pool. Just as he returned, a stranger walked up and appeared to be looking at his book. He confronted the gentleman and said, “That’s my book.” The stranger looked down at the book and said, “No, actually it’s mine. My name is Ken Follett.” I must admit that that’s about the trickiest method I’ve ever heard of for getting an autographed copy of a Follett novel.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That’s My Book

  1. Tom says:

    I have read nothing of his; I suppose I should start?

  2. Jana says:

    That’s a fun story!
    Love, Jana

Leave a Reply

