I Follow the Rules

I have always been a law-abiding citizen: I pay my taxes, vote every time there is an election, fasten my seat belt. However, I was recently accused of a crime and fined $158.00, money I could not afford to part with. My descent into crime was precipitous, not gradual. I was heading down to the Bayway in our fair city of St. Petersburg. I was not in an especially big hurry, but I knew I had to take 34th Street to 1st Avenue South in order to get onto the Interstate which leads down to the Bayway. Although I caught the light at 1st Avenue South, I knew that the left turn arrow would get me onto 1st Avenue with no problem. However, there were three cars in front of me and when the turn arrow appeared, the first car just sat there…and sat there….and sat there so that when it finally moved, I found myself pushing through the amber light. And then they nabbed me. It came in the mail–my traffic citation with a picture of my infraction. As I said, I have always been a law-abiding citizen so I wrote on the check: “I’m sorry.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Follow the Rules

  1. Bob says:

    I also am a rule-follower.I, too, would have just paid it. But, I am always angered when that first car in the turn lane just sits there. So, I share your irritation.

  2. Dan says:

    I would have done the same thing, plus have been angry twice. Once when the stupid car did not move and again when the ticket arrived. What is it about driving that brings out the worse in us?

  3. Eimear Fraid says:

    Learning is the beginning of wealth. Learning is the beginning of health. Learning is the beginning of spirituality. Searching and learning is where the miracle process all begins. Jim Rohn

  4. Joan says:

    Just as good as your last post. Do you accept advertisers?
    Ahighbloodpressurediet.com

Leave a Reply

