The Academy Debacle

I have been a fan of the movies for my entire life. When I was young, the price of a movie ticket was nine cents. In my little home town, there were four different movies shown each week. I usually went four times. As an adult movie aficionado, I, of course, have tuned in year after year to the Academy Awards, which used to be thoroughly entertaining. What has happened? What was that lackluster event that took place last Sunday night? Where was the entertainment? Where was Billy Crystal usually at his hilarious best when we needed him? The event has dumbed down every year for the past ten or so years. Where is the music? Of course, I am writing my own opinion of this extravaganza, but I know that my brother, a movie critic, agrees with me as he too is a movie lover. This year, I had not seen any of the movies, but I will eventually see most of them. Some, I am looking forward to but certainly not because I watched the Academy Awards. Perhaps the Tony’s will be better. I hope so.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

