My First Social/Un-Social Drink

I have a cousin Jean on my dad’s side of the family living in New York City who is married to a lawyer who commutes to Albany every day. Years ago when I was a college freshman, she invited me to dinner after learning that I was making my first visit from my little home town in Clinton, SC, to the Big Apple. It was nice to renew my relationship with Jean during the evening and to enjoy becoming acquainted with Elliott, her husband, who was a very cosmopolitan sort and seemed rather impressed with himself. After a delicious dinner, Elliott looked at me and said, “Would you like an after dinner liqueur?” Unwilling to expose my “hickiness,” I responded, “Of course,” as though I had an after dinner liqueur after every meal. My fears were assuaged when I saw that he had poured the liqueur into a tiny vial not much larger than a small test tube. I thought — anybody can drink that much. When he handed it to me, I tossed it down and immediately saw stars. As I coughed and gasped for air, Jean tried to ameliorate the harm done by saying, “Tommy, Elliott is just having fun with you. Quantro has to be sipped slowly.” I’ve never forgotten.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My First Social/Un-Social Drink

  1. Bob says:

    Great story. I think most of us may have an experience like that in their past. I don’t drink. I don’t have a problem with it. I’ve never enjoyed the taste. But I do recall a time or two when I tried some sort of drink because someone said how good it tasted. NOT!!! My reaction to whatever it was was about the same as yours. I’ll take my iced tea, thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

