The Big Apple

I am the first to admit that I have a sweet tooth. In the past, when I’ve been trying to lose weight, I have had to fight eating sweets in the evening. While I can pass up cake or pie, ice cream is my nemesis. For that reason, I only purchase ice cream occasionally and look to satisfy my evening need for sweets in less damaging ways. One way I pacify myself is by taking a Ritz cracker, smoothing nutty peanut butter on it, and then adding a layer of jelly. My jelly of choice is apple jelly. This morning, after my haircut, I headed to the nearby Publix specifically for a large jar of apple jelly. As I perused the jelly/jam aisle, I found large containers of grape jelly, strawberry jelly and other fruit jellies. The largest apple jelly I found was only an 18 ounce jar. Are you kidding? Aren’t there other jelly loving Americans, like me, who love and prefer apple jelly? I certainly hope that is true. If so, join me in insisting that your grocery store provide you with large jars of apple jelly commensurate with those jars of the other jellies. Meanwhile, thank you Smucker’s for tiding me over.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Big Apple

  1. Bob livesey says:

    I have been looking for a cause. Let the protests begin.

Leave a Reply

