Praying Without Ceasing

I am by profession of faith a Christian. So far as denominationalism goes, I could care less. However, I was raised in a Christian home and continue to attend a Christian church. One of the early Bible verses I remember learning in Sunday School was 1 Thessalonians 5:17 which reads, “Pray without ceasing.” As a child, I pondered that scripture and wondered how in the world one could lead a life and pray without ceasing. After dealing with cancer twice, a knee replacement, a ruptured appendix, angioplasty, a heart attack, and a laminectomy, I have learned to put into effect that scripture as part of my daily life. No, I don’t utter prayers every moment of the day, but I believe I attend to the spirit of that law. For example, when I arise in the morning, the first thing I say, before getting out of bed, is, “Thank you, Lord.” During the day, when I use the bathroom, I say, “Thank you, Lord, that  my plumbing is still working.” Before a meal, I say, “Thank you, Lord, for this meal for which I’m grateful.” When I get an e-mail from any one of my kids, I again say, “Thank you, Lord. Bless my son/daughter (by name) and protect them from harm.” Reader, I think you get the idea. I’m continually full of prayer although I don’t utter prayers 24 hours a day. “Thank you, Lord, for the inspiration to write these blogs, and bless my readers.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Praying Without Ceasing

  1. Bob livesey says:

    Your welcome…just relaying a message that I received

  2. panic attacks while sleeping Hey there, I really love this online site. Very much helpfull information. Cheers for sharing that with us. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

