Jockeying

When I began teaching English on a high school faculty, I found that I was awkward around coach types — those wearing shorts and T-shirts around campus. The problem was that everyone — well, at least all of the men — were expected to be interested in sports and to be conversant about sports activities. Since football was the dominant sport at the high school where I taught, I was occasionally forced into conversation in the teacher’s lounge with the coaches who wanted to talk football. The big problem was that I knew nothing about football and cared less except whether our high school team won or lost. So far as downs and positions, I had minimal knowledge. I therefore always felt awkward around coach-types. I tried to watch football on TV but couldn’t maintain enough interest to finish a game. Super Bowl was for aliens, so far as I was concerned. I wanted to enjoy football; I just couldn’t. At least, I couldn’t until the Buccaneers’ franchise began in Tampa. Like me, the Bucs were rather poor sports role models for quite a while. They just didn’t seem to be able to win games. I identified with this ragged football team which paralleled my ineffectiveness in sports … and I began to watch some of the games on TV. If you follow one team, you learn about the other teams as all teams eventually play each other. I found myself always rooting for the Bucs and learning the quarterbacks of other NFL teams. It was as much a miracle for me to become a football fan as it was for the U. S. hockey team to defeat the Russian hockey team in that Olympic competition years ago. Today, I am not only a fan of the Bucs but the Rays, our baseball franchise. However, my infatuation with the Rays is not for the same reason. They win games. They even played in the World Series. You want to see evidence of my transformation: I have hosted a Super Bowl party at my house, and I went to several Rays games this past season. Go Bucs! Go Rays!

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jockeying

  1. Bob livesey says:

    It is a great feeling to read something that was composed by someone you know. It is an even greater feeling when that person unabashedly reveals personal details about his life to the reader. Many folks will relate to this story, but few will likely come to know the true measure of the man who wrote it. I consider myself fortunate to know that man, and his true measure.

  2. The nfl will be the greatest and a lot exclusive specialized united states soccer league and it’s popular, sometimes even outside the us all. Should you be a huge supporter involving …spilleautomater

Leave a Reply

