Cell, No! (repeat)

Yes, I do own a cell phone. I have had it several years. It is completely utilitarian and “lives” in my car. I don’t know what my cell phone number is, but it is written on the back of the phone. I don’t want to be available twenty-four hours a day — I’m not that important. I do want to let someone know when I’m going to be late, I want AAA to know when I have a flat tire, and I want my grandchildren to know when I’m nearing Nashville or Ft. Myers. Other than those times, I can certainly do without a cell phone. My phone is a TracFone. I renew the pre-paid minutes once a year and never use up my quota which continues to accumulate so long as I renew before the expiration date. I’m sure I have some applications on it, but I certainly don’t have texting (no keyboard) nor is it a camera. I don’t want those extras; I just want a phone for emergencies. I guess if I were married, my wife would demand that I turn on my cell, but I’m not married. I don’t even answer the phone at home until I look at the Caller ID to see if I recognize the person calling. I don’t mind others having cell phones unless they let it interfere with our conversation. My cell phone is not an extension of my body as some of my friends’ cell phones are. And what happened to people wanting privacy when they used a phone? We obviously wasted a lot of money on all of those telephone booths. I suppose they were mostly for Superman.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cell, No! (repeat)

  1. Bill Martin says:

    You could take Andy Rooney’s place on 60 Minutes!

  2. Tom says:

    No doubt!!

Leave a Reply

