Zula Florence

Before her death, I could never have written this blog. Zula Florence Adair was my stepmother’s name. Florence, who hated the name Zula, lived with my daddy longer than my mother did. She married my daddy after my mother’s death at the age of 40. Ironically, Florence had never married but had dated my daddy’s brother T. L., when they were in high school. He had been killed in an automobile accident at an early age, and Florence had never married. Florence came into our home as an “old maid” and lived up to that tradition pretty well. She was frequently irritable and swore that she never awoke feeling good. I remember when a relative of my wife named her daughter, Michelle Cherie. My wife and I both agreed that the name was too-too “sweet” so we frequently would say something like, “I like that, but it’s too ‘Michelle Cherie.'” Well, my stepmother, who became my children’s grandmother, earned having her name used as a descriptive term as well. My children would sometimes come home from school, responding when asked about their day at school: “I had a Zula day.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

