My Upside-Down Children

I have been a farmer at heart for a long time. At times, I have been fairly successful growing tomatoes, cucumbers, squash, and bell peppers in very limited spaces. In the past, I’ve tried three methods of gardening: in the ground, in an earth box planter where you water the plants from the bottom, and hydroponically when you grow them in wood shavings but feed them liquid fertilizer. Each method has met with some success. This year, I decided to try the latest vegetable-growing gimmick–the Topsy-Turvy planter where plants are inserted into the planter and watered from the top of the planter which is suspended upside down. The result has been the healthiest tomato plants I have ever grown. Because they depend on me for their lives, these plants have become my “children.” I can hardly wait for the sun to rise each morning so that I can head for the porch, climb up a kitchen ladder, give them water daily and fertilize them every fifteen days. Oh yes, I do talk to them. I’m sure that’s part of the reason they are thriving and in good health.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Upside-Down Children

  1. Bob livesey says:

    By calling them children you risk the cide dilemna, I.e., geno, patro, and fratro

Leave a Reply

