Sorry, Right Number

In order to see my granddaughter, Carli, and her family who reside in Vilcabamba, Ecuador, I had to make a trip down to Ft. Myers while they were visiting in the United States. The plan was to pick them up at the address where they were staying which didn’t work on my GPS. That wasn’t a big problem as I knew I could call my son on his cell phone when I arrived, which is what I did after the hour and forty-five minute drive. I was therefore perplexed when, after dialing his number, I got a message saying the person I was trying to reach was not available but that I could leave a message, which I did…several times…over the next hour…getting the same message every time. I tried to imagine every scenario that would prevent my son from getting my messages: dead battery, malfunctioning cell phone, lost cell phone. I couldn’t believe I was going to have to turn around and drive right back home to St. Petersburg. As I drove around pondering the dilemma, I spotted an Arby’s and decided that I would at least have a sandwich before getting back on the road. While eating my roast beef sandwich, my cell phone rang: it was my son who reported that his phone had never rung, but he had found a list of my many efforts to reach him. What had promised to turn into a fiasco became a wonderful visit with my family and my precious little Carli Blue Cooper.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sorry, Right Number

  1. Bob says:

    Glad it worked out well. That would have been so sad for a malfunction to have kept you apart.

Leave a Reply

