Guests and the Boob Tube

People don’t just drop by as they used to. When I was growing up in Clinton, SC, it was not uncommon for someone to say, “I was in the neighborhood and thought I’d stop by to see you.” Nowadays, it is considered impolite to “drop in,” especially now that we have cell phones and can warn people that we are coming. Actually, I don’t mind if people stop by. The thing that I do mind is when I have made plans to visit someone, arrive at their home while they are watching a TV show, and find that they are unwilling to turn off the TV while I visit. To me, there is no TV program that supersedes the importance of communications with another human being. I can’t hear when the TV is on and therefore can’t really carry on a conversation. I know everyone doesn’t have a DVR that can be used to record TV shows, but I certainly put my DVR into action when someone shows up and I happen be watching a TV program which, by the way, is rather rare since I watch only news, sports, and weather. When someone visits my house, they will have my full attention and courtesy. Even NBC’s Brian Williams is less important when a real person pays me the courtesy of a visit.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guests and the Boob Tube

  1. Barb says:

    AMEN! Brother! Preach it!!!

Leave a Reply

