Trooper

While I was still teaching at Northeast High as a single person, some of the teachers decided that I needed a pet as a companion. As a child, I had grown up with dogs, and I knew that they required a lot of time and effort so didn’t want to go that route. In fact, I was convinced that I was perfectly fine living petlessly. When one of the lady teachers informed me that she had found the perfect pet for me–a cat–I reluctantly agreed to see the cat but warned her that unless it was love at first sight, I was not taking the cat home. The cat belonged to a policeman who had recently married a woman with young children. The children were abusing the cat, the only reason the policeman was willing to give his pet away. When I saw the cat, I was amazed at its beauty. It was a silver-haired Persian. However, it took more than good looks to win me over. I was not convinced until the policeman told me the cat’s name; it was Trooper. Since my last name is Cooper, it was indeed a deal-made-in-heaven. I’m glad to tell you that Trooper Cooper and I spent many years together.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trooper

  1. Tom says:

    I never knew the whole story about Trooper; thanks for the explanation. I know you felt bad about his passing, but as I remember, it was his time.

Leave a Reply

