I’m Not Scared of Deaf

When I was a little kid, I couldn’t pronounce the word death. It came out deaf. I didn’t talk about death much anyhow as it was something that was a long way into the future. Howver, I do remember thinking that, if I could just live past the year 2000, I would be satisfied that my life could be over. When my mother died at age 40, I thought she was old. Then when I developed prostate cancer at age 54, I realized that there is no guarantee as to the length of one’s life. When 2000 rolled around, I understood that I had no death wish but wanted to live, so long as I could live a productive and happy life. By then, I had already dealt with cancer twice, back surgery, a knee replacement, and a heart attack. I am now 73 years old, in relatively good health, and eager to live many more years so long as my health holds out. I thank God many times every day for my life and for friends and family who make life worth living, and I live knowing that I am not afraid of death, believing that when Death comes, I will be ready.

You can leave a comment by clicking on “About” just under the picture on the left side of the page.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Not Scared of Deaf

  1. Tom says:

    Beautifully said……from one old fart to another! Your writings inspire……

Leave a Reply

