The Wrong Oops

As I have aged, I have been aware, especially since joining a gym, that my balance is not what it used to be. I can no longer get up easily from being down on the floor. I can’t stand very well on one leg, particularly if I close my eyes. In gym, we are instructed to keep our eyes on some fixed point in the room while we do balancing exercises. However, you can’t do that in your home when you don’t realize that you are un-balanced. I have been careful, particularly in the shower, knowing the pitfalls of slipping in the shower or slipping on the way out once I have removed the plastic mat that gives me stability while I’m showering. However, my most recent accident occurred as I was getting into my shower/tub. Instead of lifting my foot high enough for entry, I missed and fell forward, striking my right knee against the tub but fortunately catching myself before I did further damage. I had never anticipated falling into the shower so now must take that as a good warning to be careful in situations where I think I’m safe but may not be.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Wrong Oops

  1. Bob says:

    I’m with you on this. It aggravates me that I can’t get up and down from the floor like I used to. And, my condo has a walk-in shower which I REALLY appreciate. Glad you weren’t hurt.

Leave a Reply

