Bless the Children but not the Beasts

In west-central Florida, where I live, there are two “beasts” that threaten my yard. Now, first of all, you need to know that I am so tender-hearted that I used to find caterpillars on my tomato plants and, rather than squish them, I would put them out in the middle of the road so that they at least had half a chance of survival. However, there are two pests that greatly annoy me — squirrels and lubber grasshoppers. I’ve tried all sorts of remedies trying to keep squirrels from digging up plants and seeds. Someone told me that spreading moth balls among plants would work. No, sirree, it did not work. I tried hanging up aluminum strips which were supposed to frighten birds and squirrels. No luck. If you have a suggestion, please let me know. The other pest is the lubber grasshopper. It is so large and can do so much damage that it has pushed me to the edge. I have “murdered” quite a few and have felt very little guilt in the process. My tender heart is displaced when these critters threaten to destroy the beauty of my yard. Besides, I can’t get them to stay in the street.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bless the Children but not the Beasts

  1. Bill Martin says:

    Deer do us in. When we had our dog Cyrus (lab) we had no deer problem. He dies. They came back. I even tried electric fences with dangling apples coated with peanut butter, thinking I would teach them about shocks. Nope. They just endured the pain and ate the squash and beans anyway. Now we use fermented garlic in a most putrid spray — “Liquid Fence.” Well, they were here first, and they will survive!

Leave a Reply

