The Best Job in the World

I am a retired English teacher. Before I retired from the public school system, I began working with a program entitled Dual Enrollment, a program of cooperation between the local college and the public school system. The program allowed excelling high school seniors to take college courses and receive credit in both high school and college. Working with that program, I got my foot in the door at St. Petersburg College so that, when I retired from the public school system, I became an adjunct instructor at the college. In that role, I had full responsibility for several classes. Being mainly a composition teacher, I eventually became exhausted reading student compositions and learned of another avenue of work at the college–substituting. This position brought me back into the classroom and involved my working not only with composition classes but with classes of literature and even creative writing and reading. There are four reasons I call this the “best job in the world.” (1) I never have to make out lessons plans. (2) I do not grade papers. (3) The job gets me back into the classroom again with young people. And (4) I can say no if I have already made plans to go out for breakfast. Whoops! Another special reason: they even pay me.
About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best Job in the World

  1. Bob says:

    A lot of this is how I feel about my piano job. I hate the drive, and dislike rehearsals, but I LOVE playing. I think it’s when I’m most truly myself. In those days before 1998, it was the ONLY time I was myself.

  2. Bill Martin says:

    We teachers get paid to think and listen and talk. Can you beat that??

Leave a Reply

