Rays of Hope

While I was vacationing aboard the cruise ship, Celebrity Century, heading down the west coast of the United States toward San Francisco, I kept in touch with baseball scores via the ship’s TV which included ESPN. My vacation coincided with the competition for the league playoffs, and I left knowing the Tampa Bay Rays were not in the best position to make the playoffs. On Wednesday, September 29th, the Rays were playing the New York Yankees and were down 5-0 while the Boston Red Sox, the team scheduled to win the wild card, was ahead of the Orioles, 3-2. I went to the show on the ship that night optimistic but realistic. When I returned to the room and turned on the TV, I learned that the Rays had defeated the Yankees in the 12th inning and that the Orioles had bested the Red Sox. The Rays were once again in the playoffs, and my Rays T-shirt became the one that drew the attention of travelers on the ship for the next two days, particularly those from Florida and New York. Yes, the loss to the Rangers three games later eliminated us from the playoffs, but a “little” team had outplayed two giants, the Yankees and the Red Sox. Now for next year.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rays of Hope

  1. Bill Martin says:

    So glad and so sad so fast! But I always have liked the “underdog.”

Leave a Reply

