A Tooth for a Tooth

I was born with imperfect teeth. I had my front two teeth, but I had no permanent teeth on either side of my two front teeth . Therefore, when those teeth began to go bad, I was very reluctant to smile. Our family dentist’s diagnosis was that because the missing teeth were in front and were my biting teeth that it would be impossible to replace them with false teeth that would last. He suggested that I retain those baby teeth as long as I could. When I went into the Navy, the dental tech there asked me why the teeth had not been pulled. His solution: “I’m going to pull them, and they’ll do something about it,” which they did. They gave me a “permanent bridge” in two parts: each part built onto my two front teeth and attached to one tooth on each side. Over the years, I have broken that bridge several times and have had it replaced at my own expense. The last time I had this done, I was in the dentist’s office early one morning, praying that the new permanent bridge would have been made correctly from the impressions that had been taken. Even the dentist was sweating as he put the bridge into my mouth. In the background, elevator music was playing, and Karen Carpenter was crooning “Rainy Days and Mondays” and had gotten to the line, “Nothing ever seems to fit….” But, thank goodness, they did fit, no thanks to Miss  Carpenter (smile).

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Tooth for a Tooth

  1. Bob says:

    Last Sunday in church you missed a most beautiful revisit to Karen Carpenter, as Pattie from the music team sang “Bless the beasts and the children”, in honor of the blessing of the animals later that day. I chose this song last year, but we couldn’t get it ready in time. This time we did and it was exquisite. Karen was channeled in a most wonderful way.

  2. Priscilla says:

    Tom – Thought I would tell you that you inherited your “missing teeth” from the Kershaw side of the family. My Dad had the same problem and kept his “Baby” teeth for many of his adult years. X-rays showed no permanent teeth ever developed. Until reading your blog, I always assumed it was because he was the youngest of 9 children & that his mom just didn’t have enough calcium. Guess that wasn’t the situation after all.

Leave a Reply

