Ick Happens

Don’t become attached to your tropical fish. If your fish are like my fish,
they don’t necessarily hang around very long. I recently had a ten gallon
fresh-water tank in my living room. I got my fish after reading that fish are
found in dentist’s offices because they are supposed to be soothing. Being not
only a lover of any flowing water but one who is fascinated  with my water
sprinklers when they are running, I could easily see that fish would be a
calming influence in my life. After experimenting with several kinds of  fish, I
found that tetras were the easiest to care for and came in a variety of colors
and sizes. Therefore that is what I put in my tank. At the fish store, I was
told that I should not have more than one fish per gallon of water.
Nevertheless, I aimed for twelve, figuring the more the merrier. I was soon to
learn, however, that harmony would not always exist in the tank. Fish are often
unkind to each other and have a pecking order. Just let one of them have a
problem, and you readily see that they have very little “fishitarianism.” Truly
in the fish tank, it’s swim or sink.

One of the problems with freshwater fish is that they are susceptible to
something called “ick.” I am told by the people at the pet store that ick is in every tank,
can be controlled but is notorious for spreading throughout the tank. I have put
in various chemicals and even aquarium salt, but I still find ick every once in
a while. In the fish tank, the fish say, “Ick happens.”

Not only have I been fighting ick lately, but I have also lost a second fish
to an unnatural phenomenon. When I first bought the aquarium filter, it had four
rubber suckers which adhered to the walls of the aquarium. However, one came off
and pushing and shoving would not make it fit back into the hole. I figured it
wasn’t that important as the filtering went on regardless. However, one morning
when I went in to feed my little fishies, one was missing. Checking out the
tank, I found her or him stuck in the hole. I immediately turned off the pump
but this time curiosity had not killed the cat but the fish. The interment was
brief and unsentimental.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ick Happens

  1. Bob says:

    I absolutely share your love of water. One of the big reasons I live here. I also have had aquariums in the past. I’ve thought of acquiring one again.

  2. Bill Martin says:

    “The interment was brief and unsentimental.” Was it a speechless flush?

Leave a Reply

