From Bridge to Friendship

I met Mike, Linda, and Lisa Scheible of Kenosha, Wisconsin, years ago when I took a Greek cruise with my partner. We were bridge players; they were bridge players. That was our connection. We decided, after hanging out with them and playing bridge, that we should advise them of our relationship. They had no problem whatsoever. Over the years, I broke up with my partner but maintained a correspondence with Mike and Linda (Lisa had since grown up and gone off to college and work). They were forever encouraging me to take another trip which I eventually let them talk me into last December. It was a two-week Caribbean cruise. I was concerned about the length of the cruise but agreed to go. It was wonderful — not just wonderful because the Caribbean was so exciting but because the Scheibles and their friends who accompanied them on the trip were so enjoyable to be with. Some friendships gradually slip away. I feel blessed to have an enduring friendship that has become even closer through the years.

I will miss you, my readers, as I will be away from my computer until October 3 when I will publish a blog entitled: “There’s No Place Like Nome.” You figure it out.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From Bridge to Friendship

  1. Bob says:

    if you can survive a 2 week Caribbean cruise, then surely I can too, next spring.

  2. Issa says:

    Have a great time on your cruise. I am getting over GOUT. That is the most painful thing that anyone can experience and I get it too often to suit me. Cannot wait to hear about your vacation.

  3. Bill Martin says:

    Love to meet you in San Francisco when your ship docks, but it is somewhat distant and Pam has MD appointments. Her surgery is next week. Looks like you are having mild summer weather for the west coast. Take a lot of pictures so we can relive it all with you in January.

  4. Issa says:

    It will not be long before you are back to Home sweet home. I cannot wait to hear all about your cruise. I hope all went well and that you had fun.

Leave a Reply

