Not Even Porridge

I don’t cook. I never learned to cook. I was raised in the day and age when it was assumed that I would marry a woman who cooked, which I did. However, the marriage didn’t last, and I am now wife-less and cook-less. I know that I could learn to cook, but I have no interest in it and get no thrill from setting forth a nice dinner meal. I have one friend who insists that I learn to cook. My decision not to has even affected our friendship. I can make a spaghetti sauce; I can make a meatloaf; I can mix beef with taco seasoning and have some pretty good tacos. I don’t starve, but I eat out a great deal and use coupons to purchase Lean Cuisine and other frozen dinners. For breakfast, I almost always have Honey Nut Cheerios or Frosted Flakes. I love eggs but, if I cook them, I usually cook them for a dinner meal. I envy males who were taught to cook when they were young. Thank you Pizza Hut, Kentucky Fried Chicken, Taco Bell and others that keep me alive.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not Even Porridge

  1. Bob says:

    That makes two of us!!!

  2. Tom says:

    If you can read, you can cook……only if you want to that is!

  3. Bill Martin says:

    Pretend it is a chemistry lab and just follow the directions.

Leave a Reply

