Ugly As Home-Made Sin

When I was growing up in South Carolina, “ugly as home-made sin” was a descriptor used for people who were totally physically unattractive. It was never said to someone’s face but was used to describe someone from afar. When I went to work at the Dixie Home Store, a retail supermarket, the lady put in charge of training me was Ms. Huckaby. I must say that when I first met Ms. Huck, as she became known to me, she was about as unattractive a woman as I had ever met. Nevertheless, I had been “raised right” and would never have hurt Ms. Huck’s feelings. In fact, as I worked with her, she became prettier and prettier. No, there was no magical transformation of her face and features; it was her warm and helpful personality. I came to love and respect her and to realize that, when you first see someone, you see only their outward physicality. As you get to know someone, you see the whole person and their aura. The transformation of Ms. Huck therefore occurred in me, not in her. What an important lesson to learn.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

