What Do The Simple Folk Eat?

I don’t know why I have such an aversion to fancy food? It seems to me that most of the time the presentation far exceeds the taste. My tastes must be very simple as I would most of the time prefer a Taco Bell chicken quesadilla to a full course meal at a fancy restaurant. Certainly, part of the reason for my preferences is cost. I can’t eat $40.00 worth of food so why go to place where it is going to cost that much? I have some friends who overdose on fancy restaurants. I wrote this little poem after a trip to Key West where I argued with three friends about where we were going to eat.

Ode to Soup de Jour

I love to eat out every time I possibly can,
Don’t want to cook, or toss or baste, just sit and lift my hand;
But simple food is all I want, none of this fancy stuff,
Just feed my face till I can feel that I have had enough.

Throughout the years, my friends and I have eaten out a lot,
I really do not fuss at all unless the food’s not hot;
But they prefer the restaurants where menus are in “Greek;”
Then I must figure out what is just plain ol’ charbroiled steak.

The salads come with vinaigrette; I want just good ol’ Ranch,
I’d never heard of turbadoes which caused my cheeks to blanch;
I learned that vichyssoise’s a soup, served cold instead of hot,
Why in the world a soul would choose a cold soup–I would not.

I love my taters hot or cold; they serve just pome de terre,
I search and search the menu but potatoes are not there;
I ask for cake with ice cream, but they serve it a la mode,
How is a man to eat when every menu is in code?

So give me Subway sandwiches and Checkers with french fries,
Don’t give me au gratin, garcon; it’s cheese I idolize;
My taste is so plebeian that I truly want it plain,
To analyze the language of a menu strains my brain.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Do The Simple Folk Eat?

  1. Bill Martin says:

    You will find on your upcoming cruise menus with a number of fancy adjectives before and after a substantive noun — like, Seasonally roasted, lightly stirred french cut fresh asparagus creamed with Swiss challots and Spanish mild jalapenos.

Leave a Reply

