Sound Reasoning

Of all the things that I own, I think my most prized possession are my Bose speakers and speaker system. When stereophonic sound was first coming into existence, I was there in college turning on an AM and an FM radio at the same time and listening to the broadcast in stereo. Sometimes it would be a train crossing from left to right or a band marching across the room. Now, I have a sound system that decodes 5.1 stereo surround or dts, an even more discreet sound system. Almost all movies on DVD are now encoded with either or both of these stereophonic sound systems, and the effect, to me, is like listening to sound in 3-D. My sound system has become my social secretary, bringing friends into my home to watch (and listen) to movies on DVD. With a high-definition TV and surround sound combination, I have close to downtown movie quality in my home.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

