Girth Control

I am trying once again to lose weight. Dieting was not a word in my vocabulary until I was well into adulthood. As a teenager and young adult, I had the opposite problem — gaining weight. During the time I was in high school in the 50’s, I was told that I looked like “war-torn Europe.” My cheeks were sunken in, and my chest was most un-Charles Atlas-like. I was indeed a wimp. My mother attributed it to my not eating vegetables, an insult to my southern heritage. During my college years, I began smoking. When I quit, after the birth of our first child, I began to suffer from what might be called “girth defects.” In fact, my weight “improved” to the point that I had a problem with my blood pressure and was told to lose weight or take blood pressure pills for the rest of my life. I chose to lose weight and did so proudly without “going on a diet.” I began to exercise regularly, cut out all food between meals plus all chips and salty snacks, and started a dietary supplement regimen. I lost five pounds a month for six months and again looked like war-torn Europe. While many friends told me they thought I had cancer, I celebrated my slimness. Years later, I did have cancer (caused  probably by vegetable-less-ness as a child) and lost thirty pounds during the chemotherapy and radiation. I looked emaciated plus I had lost my hair. The cancer treatments, however, were successful, and I remember my oncologist saying during one of my post-treatment weigh-in’s, “You can stop now.” That statement was made after I had reached 210 pounds. As a result of that comment, I guess I am on a “diet.” I am drinking Slim Fast for lunch and will not allow myself to consume any food after I eat dinner. The first few days of this regimen were surprisingly easy, but it has become tougher with time. When I told my partner about the Slim Fast, I was told that perhaps I should try Slim Faster. With all the news about obesity, I want to be classically trim. I would almost settle with  having my war-torn Europe image back.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

