Homely

I love my home. Although I have lived here since 1989, the “new” has never worn off. I enjoy coming home from wherever and dropping into my recliner. I love listening to stereo music in the living room. I love dropping into my bed at night and waking refreshed in the morning. I love my neighborhood, my yard, my flowers, my car. With this much to cherish, you must be thinking that I must have many worldly things that make my home plush and appealing. Not so. When I moved into this house after having it built, I bought all of the furniture I needed with money I had saved when my ex-wife sold our original home and gave me my agreed to portion from the sale, and I have bought very little since. If anything, I need to get out of my home more often as I live alone. I’m grateful that I have the nearby gym and my substituting job at  St. Petersburg College that requires me to get out of the house occasionally. When I was teaching and was still married, the family sometimes scheduled trips at which time we planned to leave right after school so as to make the most of the little time we had. Almost always, although time was precious, I would insist on going home for a few minutes before we left. It was almost like “touching base” in a childhood game. If home is indeed where the heart is, then my heart is at home.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

