Just As You Are

I was raised in a Southern Baptist home in the Piedmont area of South Carolina. I learned early the beliefs that were most important to Southern Baptists, such as immersion baptism and an invitation to salvation at the end of every worship service. As a young man wrestling with his sexual orientation, I prayed strongly during those invitation hymns that God would take away from me this “dark blot” that I fought against so strongly because of having been taught that it was so very wrong. The hymn that we sang during most of those altar calls was an old hymn, entitled “Just As I Am,” which begins, “Just as I am without one plea but that God shed His blood for me.” I think I sang that hymn for years
without truly thinking of the words or their meaning. However, when, at age 53, I began to challenge my belief that homosexuality was a sin, I also began to question the words to that song. After I confessed to God that I was not going to fight what I had decided was His Creation of me, I rewrote the song to personalize my understanding of the new meaning in my life:

Just as you are, I cannot be,
Though I too am without one plea,
For God’s Son shed His blood for me.
O Lamb of God, I come.

Just as you are, I tried to be,
I thought my “dark blot” unsightly;
Yet Jesus said He died for me.
O Lamb of God, I come.

Just as I am, I now must be,
For I know Jesus died for me;
No separate eternity.
O Lamb of God, I come.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just As You Are

  1. Tom says:

    Very nice Thom!

Leave a Reply

