Stormy! Wetter!

If I had not been a school teacher, I would have liked to have been a
meteorologist. When I entered the US Navy, I asked to become an aerographer‘s
mate, which would have started me on a meteorological career. However, the Navy
looked at my background and sent me to yeoman school to become a clerk-typist, a
job which paralleled my intent to become an English teacher. I have enjoyed my
career in education, but I still watch the skies for interesting weather
phenomena. I love summer storm clouds, I love tropical storms that don’t cause a
lot of damage, I love waterspouts out over the water. Not infrequently, you can
find me checking out the local radar.

I am not the only one who has this  secondary interest in weather. My friend Dan in Seminole is another amateur “weather man.” I call Dan, checking to see if it has rained in Seminole and how much rainfall has been recorded by his rain gauge. He does the same with me. Both of pretend to be frustrated when the other has had a larger amount of rainfall. It’s a friendly competition that neither of us can regulate. Each of us wants to hear whether it has been stormier or wetter at the other guy’s place. I’m glad I was taught as a kid not to be afraid of storms but to take normal safety precautions. I’ve joked about moving over to Polk County in central Florida where it seems to rain every day, especially when the forecasters say, “showers, mostly inland.” As a weather watcher, I have read about lake effect snows in Buffalo, NY. I don’t understand why St. Petersburg doesn’t have Gulf effect rain showers. As the king of Siam says in “The King and I,” it’s a puzzlement.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

