Anality (Repeat)

It’s true. I confess that I am anal retentive, not so bad as Jack Nickelson
in “As Good As It Gets,” but anal enough, just the same. I have taken enough
psychology classes to recognize the symptoms. I think I have lived with this
obsession for a long time, but it has become more lodged In my traditional way
of doing things as I have grown older. My brother used to tell me, “Don’t put my
letter on the bottom.” He knew that my habit was to answer letters In the order
they arrived. One example of my orderly process that my friends think is a bit
overboard is my practice of making a reading schedule for books I get from
the library. I am presently in the process of reading a large print version of
Pat Conroy’s South of Broad which has 750 pages and is due back at the
library in 29 days. When I brought the book home from the library, I sat down
and figured that I must read 26 pages per day in order to get it back on time
which I can and will do. Another routine I observe is that of cutting out
grocery coupons. My kids have teased me about my coupon clipping, suggesting
that my name should be Thom Coupon instead of Cooper. Many people clip coupons
without being anal retentive. However, I extend the observance a bit further.
When I get home from the grocery store with my sales slip, I go online to my
credit union and withdraw the amount of coupon savings from checking and
transfer it into my savings account. It’s amazing how quickly my savings build
up for a “rainy day.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

