$5.00 off

Recently, I had several appointments I had to take care of plus I had a grocery
store emergency – no food in the house. I had scheduled my air conditioner
maintenance, something that is done routinely every six months. I had also had a
call from Bob Miller, a friend who details cars and sells them for his
customers. Since my son Todd’s car is parked in front of my house and needs to be
sold, I had asked Bob to come by and look at the car. I realized
I had only about an hour to get to the grocery store before the air conditioning
man was to arrive, knowing Bob was scheduled for the afternoon. At the store, I
rushed more than usual. Although grocery shopping is certainly not my favorite
activity, I usually bring coupons with me and take considerable time locating
the items I need. On this day, I had brought only one coupon. When I reached the
checkout line, I put my Winn-Dixie card and the one coupon down as I lay out the
items for purchase. In order to save time, I began writing my check while the
checker was tallying my bill. As soon as the clerk announced the amount, I added
the cost to the check. At that time, the lady behind me spoke up and said, “Do
you want to use my $5.00 off coupon?” Because the coupon was good only with a
$30.00 or more order, she couldn’t use it. Wow! Despite my rushing around, the
day had suddenly taken on a warm glow. When I went into the parking lot, the
“coupon” lady was getting her groceries into her car. As I wheeled my grocery
cart toward the storage area, I swung by and grabbed hers, thanking her once
more for her generosity. AND…I made my appointments on time.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

