Our Daily Debts

While never having a superb voice (and no voice lessons), I have sung fairly often in churches, mostly in my own. The accolades I have received as a vocalist were ostensibly for singing the words to a song expressively rather than impressing listeners with my vocal skills. Because I knew music and because I didn’t have a bad voice, I sang. I have never been a good “memorizer” and not infrequently invented lyrics when I was singing when I failed to look down in time to find the next word in a song. One of the worst examples of my fallibility occurred when I was asked to sing Malotte’s “The Lord’s Prayer” at the wedding of a good friend. The wedding was at First Presbyterian Church, an edifice that intimidated me, knowing the limits of my vocal skills. However, it was not the artistry of my voice that let me down during the ceremony but the lyrics of the familiar anthem. I sang forth loud and clear, “Give us this day…our daily debts.” My friend teases me to this day saying that she has indeed been continually in debt since her wedding day.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Daily Debts

  1. Issa says:

    That is pretty funny, gave the bride reason to remember you. Wes, had a BEAUTIFUL voice and I still miss listening to him. He sang in choirs, musicals etc. Valerie and Wes have beautiful voices too. Marta, the baby cannot carry a tune like me and said to me ” Yes, dad, sang to them and you sang to me” so I take the blame. Going back to the piano playing, I tried piano lessons, Wes bought me a piano and I thought I was going to be playing some classical music rught a way and quit at Chopsticks. I don’t have a good ear for music either. I have a niece that has NEVER had a piano lesson and when she was a tiny girl she will climb on her grandma’s piano stool and start playing. To this day she blows my mind. If we asked her to play something she asked us to hum it for her and she would play it. She taught her younger daughter to play. Hope you are cool
    We are roasting in Boone.

Leave a Reply

