Lemonade in Wool Pants

This is a true story that I found in my journal. It happened on June 21, 1974, here in St. Petersburg.

My wife and I decided that it would be nice to invite our son’s friends over to celebrate his birthday and to take everyone ice skating at a nearby public ice skating rink. We had read in the newspaper that this rink had been frozen over for ice skating, a St. Petersburg rarity. The city was running the rink and charging only $1.00 per skater. We studied the situation and decided to have each child bring his dollar, and we would provide transportation and refreshments. So, nine of Bo’s friends showed up, and we bundled them off to the arena only to find that it was closed to the public because of a Jehovah’s Witness convention. What does one do with nine kids dressed in their warmest for ice skating on a hot June afternoon? Desperate, I called the Gay Blades roller skating rink and discovered that it was open but that their fee was $1.50 per kid. We decided to go ahead and subsidize each kid  and continue with the party. The rink was not air conditioned, Bo’s little sister refused to skate, and another kid spent the entire afternoon on the floor. I had an enjoyable time supervising despite having worn wool pants which I kept rolled up to my knees. If that isn’t getting a lemon and making lemonade, I don’t know what is.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemonade in Wool Pants

  1. Bob says:

    Cute family story. We both have so many, I’m sure.

  2. Issa says:

    Years ago when our children were small we had an ice skating rink in Boone. At that time Wes brother John was living with us and going to ASU plus working there keeping the ice smooth? My kids celebrated a few birthdays at home and then went to skate for free. The place closed and now there is a Wellness center where the rink used to be….MEMORIES!!!!!

Leave a Reply

