Sex Change

In 1993, while I was still teaching advanced English students at Northeast High School, I learned that I had prostate cancer and needed to have  surgery. The diagnosis frightened me, of course, but I was also greatly concerned because I would miss six weeks of school thereby affecting the lives of the seniors I was teaching. Before announcing to them that I would be away during the entire first part of their second semester, I talked with my
principal and suggested that he hire a retired Northeast High teacher we both knew to substitute for me during the time I would be out recovering from the surgery. I was confident that Ms. Alvord was completely competent to keep these students on schedule, learning the things they needed in order to receive their high school credits. I also figured that since they were advanced students, they could also handle the truth about my situation so I told them that I was to have prostate surgery. While I was out, Mary was very considerate about keeping me informed regarding the progress of the classes and often told me little anecdotes about my students. One day as I quizzed her about the progress she was making, she looked at me and said, “You know you have a real joker in 4th period.” I replied: “I know exactly who you are talking about–Peter Schorsch.” “Yes, that’s the one,” Mary continued. “The  other day, out of the blue and in class, he said, ‘Ms. Alvord, we heard that Mr. Cooper has had a sex change.’ Mary said that his comment caught her off guard for only a moment before she responded in her deepest voice: “He did. I’m the new Mr. Cooper.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sex Change

  1. Diane Duke says:

    I had never heard that story before. But leave it to Mary. What a card and a lovely lady!!

  2. Bill Martin says:

    Now that is being quick witted!

  3. Issa says:

    Quick thinking from the teacher. Sounds like she was very smart too. Any plans for the 4th? I bought a bunch of rib eye steaks yesterday so if the weather cooperates we are planning a cook out.
    Happy 4th to you.

Leave a Reply

