I’m Not Going To Be Able To…

I have a pet peeve — cancellations. The person who is cancelling usually begins with, “I’m sorry I’m not going to be able to….” I know there are sometimes good reasons for cancellations, and I do appreciate receiving a notice ahead of time (although I don’t want it to arrive too late). I am a man of commitment. If I say I’m going to do something, I feel obligated to follow through even if I don’t want to. I can’t say that I have never canceled for I know I have, but it was only under unavoidable circumstances, and I have apologized profusely. My biggest grief is with people who are notorious cancellers. My problem is more with me than with them because of my loyalty. I never think a friend is going to cancel again even though they have cancelled over and over. I schedule my days around appointments and promises. When I am faced with unexpected cancellations, I am frustrated and disappointed.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Not Going To Be Able To…

  1. Issa says:

    Thom
    I hate cancellations and people that are constantly late. I am very prompt and rather be early than late. A good friend of mine was always late and I mean hours, until one day in no uncertain terms I told her never to ask me to go anywhere with her again. I can happily say that ever since she is always on time.

  2. Bill Martin says:

    Yes, lateness is rude, but love is always timely.

Leave a Reply

