Alarming

Once, during my teaching career, I was hired to conduct a seminar for a group
of teachers in a remote central Florida community. The little town was far off
the “main track,” and I realized that I was going to arrive very late. I
therefore phoned ahead, alerting the management that I would be quite late
checking into the motel where a reservation had been made for me for the night
before the seminar. On schedule, I did not arrive at the motel until after
midnight and sought to summon the motel clerk. Shortly after I tapped the bell
on the counter, a door opened and a pajama-clad gentleman faced me sleepily. I
informed him of my reservation and was silently checked in and handed my key to
room 11. As he turned to leave, I requested a wake-up call for 7:00. “Oh, I
don’t think I’ll be up that early,” responded the clerk with a yawn. However, he
indicated with a wagging finger that I should await his final plan as he
wandered off. Sure enough, he ambled back to the window, winding and setting a
small alarm clock which he presented to me.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alarming

  1. Issa says:

    Great service!!!! Happy Fathers day. Any big plans? I had a birthday yesterday spent in bed as I had been for the past 3 weeks fighting Pneumonia and other complications. Hopefully there will be better days to celebrate. Missing Wes today.

Leave a Reply

