USPS Snake Patrol (repeat)

I live in a quiet residential area of St. Petersburg near an elementary
school. I feel very safe in my home though I have no alarm system or even a dog
for security. All I have is my confidence in the integrity of my home. My safety
was challenged though one day when I was sitting at my computer, checking my
e-mail, when I heard a rapping at my front door. At first, I ignored it,
thinking it was the refrigerator which always seems to have gastronomic sounds
emanating from its innards, but then I heard it again. Getting up and walking to
the door, I peered out the peep hole and saw my mailman. Figuring he must have
something from the post office that required my signature, I began to unlock the
door. From the other side, I heard him shout, “No!” I quickly pushed the door
shut again, wondering what in the world was going on. Shortly, I heard “Okay,
you can open it now.” When I opened the door, there was my postman holding a stick he had obviously picked up in the yard. His story was that, as he walked up to deliver my mail (I have a mail slot in the door), he saw two black snakes on my front porch. Knowing they are basically harmless, he picked up the stick and tried to scare them away from my front door. In the process, the stick knocked up against the door which was what drew me to the door. He said that, if I had opened the door, one of the snakes might have come in the door. Heaven forbid! I will always have a warm place in my heart for the postal service and
especially for those who do snake patrol to protect us citizens.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

