Endorphins

I have many friends who are very much into physical exercise. I too appreciate the need for exercise, but please notice that I did not reuse the word “into” but rather used the less enthusiastic word “appreciate.” I’ve never been one of these jocks who says “if it isn’t hurting, it isn’t doing any good.” Heaven forbid. I now attend an aerobic exercise class twice a week. I can’t say I “enjoy” it; I go because I feel that it’s good for me. I’ve had a heart attack so need to keep that muscle pumping. I have heard my running friends speak of how their endorphins kick in and put them into running ecstasy. I just had my annual physical and forgot to have the doctor check me for endorphins. Based on my past, I have none. Can you live without endorphins? I hope so.

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Endorphins

  1. Issa says:

    I couldn’t engage on any excersise program even if I wanted to. My knees are gone and my whole body is ( ravaged?) with arthritis, so I am sure I am Endorfin depleted. I remember in my early 50’s when I joined a health club and could work every machine, weighs and every concoction they had there. The first day there I zipped through all these with flying colors and the next day I was paralyzed with pain. It took me 5 days before I could go back. I have to admit it felt good while it lasted. Now all I have are memories of my gone youth.

  2. Bill Martin says:

    I think you mean “endorphins.” — Bill πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

