Frieda

When I was teaching high school, one of the most special treats was fudge prepared by my teacher friend, Diane Duke. I don’t know exactly where the nickname came from — I guess it was just alliteration — but Diane earned the title “Frieda Fudge.” She made the most delicious fudge you can ever imagine putting into your “whole” mouth. She created it in the microwave which made it even more exotic and delicious. When Frieda brought fudge, she brought it for the entire English department. However, secretly, she usually gave me my own private stash. When I retired, I no longer had access to Frieda’s fudge, and I grieved. She did prop me up one last time, bringing fudge to my retirement party. I still maintain contact via e-mail with Diane who lives quite a way from me in the Dunedin area. Although she doesn’t send me fudge any longer, I still write to her as “Dear Frieda.”

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frieda

  1. Frieda says:

    I love it. I printed it to save and put in my scrapbook. But I don’t remember giving you your own stash. When the others find out, they’ll be mad!! I haven’t made that fudge for a long time!! I’ll have to make it again if we ever have another reunion!!
    Frieda Fudge

  2. Issa says:

    Maybe Frieda Fudge read this and surprises you with another batch of her delicious fudge. I am not a fan of chocolate so you don’t have to share it with me ( smile) It is hot in Boone but cool in my house. Still feel bad and have to wait about a week before all my doctors apointments begin. Stay coool.

    Issa

Leave a Reply

