Taking the Pills

Recently I complained to a friend about having to take five pills each evening: four are prescription drugs along with one baby aspirin. Two prescriptions were added after my January heart attack. Before that addition, three pills were not bad; five are terrible. I take all five just before bedtime and dread opening each container, taking out one pill, and twisting the bottle caps back on. My friend immediately said, “You need one of these seven day pill containers.” I have seen “those things,” and have always called them “senility pill holders.” How could I possibly avail myself of something so “old?” Yesterday morning, I went out to breakfast with my “senile pill holder” friend, and she brought me one of the pill holders as a gift. Yesterday afternoon, I sat down and counted the pills out into each slot. I only had to open each pill bottle once and now have my pills counted out through Saturday. What a wonderful idea!

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taking the Pills

  1. Bob says:

    Good for you for overcoming your resistance. I take 11 different pills in the morning, 6 in the evening. About 1/2 prescription. Mostly generic, thank goodness. I’ve used one of those 7-day containers for a long time. Makes it so much easier.

  2. Dan says:

    I read your blog to you “senile friend”, she will talk to you Sunday! 🙂

  3. Issa says:

    I cannot believe that you just found out about the pill containers. I have been using them ever since I can remember. Had tried a few before I found one at the place where you can get vitamins and cannot think of the name of that store now. It is big and round, plus I have another one of those long ones which I bought the largest one. Wes only took one baby aspirin and some vitamins and minerals but I bought him one of the rounds ones too. When he died I took it back so I keep my 2 rounds plus the long ones filled. If by any chance I have to leave to go somewhere for a few days or weeks my pills are already filled. I was sorry when the vitamin store quit selling the round boxes, they don’t spill like most of your other ones. I can go over 3 weeks without filling as I call them my “pill buckets”

  4. Priscilla says:

    I learned about the pill containers when caring for my Mom. Poor thing, she had several to take morning-noon-night and I took over the “pill inventory” to make sure she was taking her meds correctly. Like you I only have ones to take once a day, sooo-I use the double containers to prepare for 2 weeks worth at once. I find that filling the pill containers helps me keep up with when I need to renew a prescription as well. Most importantly, I rarely forget to take my pills and, if I do have a “senior” moment, it’s easy to see whether I took them or not.

Leave a Reply

