One or Two

I am no cook. I’m about as interested in cooking as I am in needlepoint. Cooking just doesn’t interest me in the least. However, living alone on a fixed income, I can’t eat out all the time so I must cook at times. I can make a meatloaf (sometimes it’s rather tasty), I can make spaghetti sauce (sometimes it’s not bad), I can do a chicken breast or a pork chop (very risky), and I can fry an egg. The only problem with frying eggs is that I like mine overeasy, and that’s not possible with me doing the turn-overs. The other problem with my cooking at home is that I can only get two items on the table at the same time. If I have a meat dish, then I can have a vegetable. If I have shrimp, I can have potatoes with it (I buy the shrimp pre-cooked). I therefore have a very limited diet at home, as you can see, which is why I always enjoying going out …. but only if I have a discount coupon. Tonight I’m going to dine at Denny’s with 20% off the entire bill. What more could I ask?

About bobosbest

I am a 79-year-old retired English teacher whose writing goals are fulfilled by publishing these blogs. I have a wonderful married partner, Dimitris Tsitsiras, who is from Greece. Life is good and still an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One or Two

  1. Bob says:

    I don’t know why I haven’t ever mentioned this, but I’m just about as wonderful at cooking as you are, so I’m always up for lunch or dinner out. And, I love coupons too. I am very much NOT picky about food so almost any place is fine with me. When my friends are deciding where to eat I’m never any help because, for me, it’s ALWAYS about being with my friends, not about the particular restaurant.

  2. Issa says:

    I hardly ever eat out and I do love to cook. I like my cooking and so did Wes and my kids do too. Just recently when they were all here I cooked all their favorites and just anything else I wanted to cook. Among the dishes they stuffed their faces with were, chicken caccitori, puertorican steak, lasagña, chili, spaghetti and meat balls, chicken Alfredo, pork chops, fried rice and Wes favorite Shrimp curry. After he died I swear I would never cooked it again but I did. I am sure he was happy I continued to make it.
    Just about everything I cook is accompanied by salad and rice. Is your mouth watering yet? Smile.

Leave a Reply

